New Meal for Lunch

Tony and I tend to eat the same thing for lunch most days, so from time to time we have to change it up. We’ve been on a fairly long roll with lettuce wraps (with sliced chicken/turkey and a little mayo) or cottage cheese, with an apple/grapes. While on Pinterest last week, I found this picture:

 

I couldn’t find a recipe, but it looked easy enough, right? Here are the ingredients I used for my version of these Veggie Wraps:

  • red butter lettuce (or whatever kind you choose)
  • radicchio, cut in thin slices
  • shredded carrots (I bought the pre-packaged kind)
  • cucumber, peeled and cut in slices
  • thin slices of onion
  • Boar’s Head maple roasted chicken (I knew Tony would want a protein in there), optional
  • rice paper (I had to order it from Amazon, because I went to three different stores in town and couldn’t find it)

The rice paper was crazy – I had eaten it, but never used it before. It came in hard sheets that you soaked in warm water for 30 seconds or so (directions were on the package). Then, I laid it on a plate, filled it with the ingredients and wrapped it up. Pretty easy. I made 4 rolls total – one for me and one for Tony for lunch the night before. I ended up eating mine even a day later, and it was still good. Rice paper doesn’t have much of a taste, but sure helps to hold everything together. The most important part of the wrap was the peanut sauce…. I found a couple of recipes online that I combined to make this version of Crunchy Peanut Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth/water, or some combo of both
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce (I left this out of Tony’s because he doesn’t like it – it was still good, but missing that extra kick of flavor)
  • spoonful of light brown sugar
  • few shakes of red pepper flakes
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced

Tony said the sauce made the meal! It was a nice change in pace for lunch last week, and probably a new staple for the weeks to come. Here’s a pic of mine… not quite as pretty, but I wasn’t ready to eat them when I took the pic, so you just get a view from the outside.

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

