Happy Cheat Day!

So… every Saturday is our cheat day… Tony and I don’t worry about carbs, calories, whatever. So, I thought to celebrate such a joyous occasion, I would try making homemade “foolproof” doughnuts for breakfast. Look how gorgeous they were!

Tony took the first bite and asked how I made such a great creamy filling… “What did you stuff in there?” Hmmmm…. looks like I magically stuffed dough in the center. The outside was nicely golden brown, looking quite delicious. However, the middle was still raw. Foolproof? Apparently not for me. So, we just ate and picked around the edges… it was the messiest, most interesting way to eat a doughnut. But, looks like we were still able to cut back on the calories, haha. Here’s what was left:

You can’t really tell they were still doughy in the middle from the pic, but they were. Maybe I could have just let Tony roll with the “filling” idea, telling him I injected cream cheese…. oh well.

Cheat day dinner? Looking forward to delicious pasta with friends we haven’t seen in months!

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

