Cooked Carrots

On the menu for tonight: grilled salmon/tilapia, broccoli and sautéed carrots. Cooked carrots can be a hit or miss for me, but in an effort to create some more variety in healthy side dishes, I thought I’d give it another try tonight. With an hour drive home, I had plenty of time to concoct a recipe:

  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 2 cloves minced garlic (more or less depending on your love or disdain of garlic)
  • carrots, sliced at an angle (I used approximately 3/4 bag of mini carrots)
  • onion, thinly sliced (I had 3/4 of a small vidalia onion already in the fridge)
  • 2 Tbsp sage honey (one of our favorite treasures we brought back home from our last trip to Napa)
  • about 1/4 cup beer
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans

Melt the butter in a pan with garlic. Sauté onions and carrots until slightly browned. Add salt and pepper and then add in honey; cook for a couple of minutes. Add beer and reduce heat to low. Simmer until liquid is cooked off. Add pecans for the final 5 minutes or so, just before plating for your meal.

 

I think they turned out really well… just the right mix of sweet and savory. They were soft with just a touch of crunch. Tony’s 18-year-old brother who’s staying with us for the summer even said they were good. They have a bit of dairy and carbs (butter and beer) with some natural sugar (sage honey) and fat (pecans), but they have to be better for you than a loaded potato… And, with how light the rest of our dinner was, the small splurges were worth it.

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

