New Eating Plan

Tony and I are always looking for new ways to change up our healthy eating habits (especially since I’ve reached a plateau of feeling stuck lately), and he came across the 4-Hour Body, Slow-Carb Diet. We figured it would be a great time to try it out after getting back from a week of vacation eating (and gaining 4 pounds that were tremendously enjoyed with every bite). Here are the basic rules…

Rule 1: Avoid “white” carbohydrates (or anything that can be white).
Rule 2: Eat the same few meals over and over again.
Rule 3: Don’t drink calories.
Rule 4: Don’t eat fruit.
Rule 5: Take one day off per week and go nuts.

They seem pretty basic and no-brainer, but things we often forget when wanting to give in to cravings of pasta, potatoes and cheese. Rule 5 was the winner for us. We aren’t looking for a diet, but a lifestyle. And, being such the lovers of food as we are, we aren’t willing to give up everything we love. So here’s to trying something new! This week’s dinner menu:

  • Monday: grilled turkey portobello “burger”, spaghetti squash
  • Tuesday: grilled tilapia/salmon, grilled summer veggies (squash, zucchini, mushrooms and onions)
  • Wednesday: grilled chicken, tomato basil salad, lentils
  • Thursday: grilled tilapia/salmon and broccoli
  • Friday: chicken fajita lettuce wrap, beans, guacamole

Breakfast and lunch will require a little more work. Where I’ve been used to grabbing a banana or apple for breakfast and sticking to yogurt and fruit for lunch (with the occasional restaurant sandwich), I’ll now be increasing my protein intake. That will mean making eggs in the morning and preparing things in advance for lunch (homemade chicken salad, cottage cheese and tomato, turkey lettuce wraps). So in addition to eating a little differently, I’ll also be a little more bound to my alarm clock in the mornings. Excited for a change and looking forward to next Saturday’s splurge of steak and potatoes with chocolate cake making every wise food choice worth it this week. 🙂

 

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

