Why Friends Are Important

Tony and I just got back from spending several days with some of our best friends. Why did we find it so important to drive 6 hours to a small town in Ohio to spend our 4th of July holiday week? It was a…

  1. Time of rest and fun away from home
  2. Time to vent about current concerns and frustrations about life with people who genuinely support us and share honest responses
  3. Time to dream about what might be next (maybe we could one day all live in the same state)
  4. Time to be held accountable to continue pushing on to our potential as a couple, as individuals, as workers, as friends, as followers of Jesus
  5. Time to encourage and be encouraged
  6. Time to look back and see how far we have come… this has been a 20 year friendship, so we have seen and experienced a lot together

Tony got to play golf a few times, I got to get a massage, we ate such great food (both home cooked and from great local restaurants), we went to the pool, we went to a David Grey concert, we learned a new game (that I have yet to master and win)… minus the 100+ degree weather, it was a perfect holiday week with people we love greatly! And the best part is that our annual BFF vacation is only a month away! Counting down to more fun time together…

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

