My Outdoor Space

I love flowers… but, I haven’t been a huge fan of gardening. I have found, though, that digging and planting and watering is worth the work for the results. So each spring and fall Tony and I take one day/weekend to gather some new flowers, plants, mulch, etc. and work on the maintenance and adding to our our yard/flower beds. We are pretty low maintenance, so whatever loves lots of heat and little water is what we go with. Weeding is often a low priority on our to-do list, so my dad will often pull what he sees and leave a pile on our front steps whenever he comes to visit. The leaving of the pile on the front steps is important because he wants to be sure we know what he’s done, haha… what a good man. Our goal this spring for our planting day was to create a more cozy space on our deck by adding more plants/flowers. I think we did a great job; and, I’ve been working really hard to water them most every morning to prepare them for our 90 plus degree Tennessee days. We also tried pots of strawberries, blueberries and herbs (basil, parsley, dill, cilantro) this year. We’ve had a handful of berries to eat, but the herbs have been out of control. We pretty much eat basil and parsley with every meal. I can’t express how great it’s been to be able to grab some herbs from the backyard while I’m cooking! And, so much cheaper than buying them at the store. Maybe next year we’ll add some peppers or green beans… whatever we can plant, forget about and cross our fingers will turn out fantastic! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

