Menu from Father’s Day

I love cooking and love hosting dinner parties. I’m hoping to begin a tradition to host Mother’s Day and Father’s Day at my house each year. This year for Father’s Day I have a couple of really great recipes to make to shower some tasty love and appreciation on my pop. He loves grilling, loves Italian food, loves burgers… so why not a little twist that would include all three?

Appetizer: Caprese Skewers

Italian Meatball Sliders from Cooking Light with a variety of toppings: caramelized onions, shredded white cheddar cheese, basil, lettuce, condiment of choice (olive oil mayo, ketchup, dijon mustard)…

Crispy Smashed Potatoes: there are several versions of this recipe, but our favorite is to top with more caramelized onions and white cheddar. Since we had the onions and cheddar for the sliders, I just added some garlic and herb Mrs. Dash (to keep sodium low) and parmesan cheese blend with asiago. Like always, take a chance to come up with your own version!

For my heart-healthy mom we grilled some chicken breasts and she brought some Broccoli Slaw – it was great, something a little different and more sweet than the normal broccoli salad. My cousin made a Veggie Pizza with Crescent Roll Crust (oldie but a goodie in our family – I haven’t had it in so long). One of my aunts brought a key lime pie (so thankful because I’ve been craving one) and my other aunt made a cherry crisp, served with ice cream. It was a fun family party! And I’m stuffed! Sorry, no pics because I spent all my time eating – it was all gone before I remembered, haha.

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

