Dinner Tonight: Comfort

Tony’s favorite comfort dish includes some version of sausage, vegetables and a starch. Tonight’s take on that sort of dish is…

  • summer sausage
  • summer veggies (squash, zucchini, baby portobello mushrooms, onions and orange pepper)
  • orzo (If you’ve never had it before, orzo is pasta that is the same size/shape of rice – boil and rinse just like regular pasta.)

To cook the sausage and veggies, I sliced everything in rather large chunks and then tossed with…

I cook with feeling more than with recipes, exact measurements aren’t my forte. Choose your favorite herbs/spices and go with it! My mom gave us a great steel grill fry pan to use for such a meal as this. Tony grilled the sausage and veggies for about 20 minutes on high heat. Of course, you can choose to go shorter or longer depending on the “doneness” you like (I prefer for a lighter color, Tony opts for the more charred look).

We served the sausage and veggies over the cooked orzo, drizzled with some creamy balsamic dressing and topped with just a touch of some grated smoky gouda (Tony’s favorite cheese is apple smoked gruyere, but we are “suffering” tonight with the gouda since we are out of the gruyere). You could also use some sort of italian dressing, parmesan, or nothing at all. Sometime’s we’ll even top it with some crispy onions. Here’s our finished product…

MY comfort meal was last night: homemade pizza. Key ingredients…

  • frozen bread dough (Kroger has a package that comes with 5 loaves)
  • olive oil
  • favorite italian spices
  • Philadelphia italian cheese and herb cooking creme
  • shredded chicken (cooked in the crockpot all afternoon with herbs, onions, peppers and beer)
  • roasted red peppers
  • caramelized onions
  • sautéed baby portobello mushrooms
  • sliced black olives
  • mozzarella cheese

The hardest part was remembering to put the frozen bread loaf out in time to thaw and rise (about 6 hours prior to cooking). Tony loves thick crust pizza, so  I rolled the dough out into a circle that seemed to be the thickness he wanted and then brushed it with olive oil and some seasonings. Then, I cooked it on 350 for 15 minutes or so and then took it out to top. First, I spread the cooking cream. Then, I added the chicken, peppers, onions, mushrooms, olives and most importantly, the shredded mozzarella. The pizza went back in the oven for an additional 15-20 minutes I think. Sorry, no pics from last night, but I will say that it was absolutely delicious! Our special treat (typically about 3 times a year) is to order Papa John’s… but I dare to say no more! This is my new favorite pizza!

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

