I Wish…

I wish I read more…

I wish I were a runner…

I wish money was a non-issue…

I wish I had unlimited knowledge that could be creative in solving any problem…

I wish I were more up on fashion (and it was a part of my wardrobe)…

I wish I could go to culinary school and start my own restaurant…

I wish I could perform on Broadway… just once in a really fabulous show…

and I wish I could be a part of creating it…

I wish I could be greatly respected…

I wish I could be a little more in control of timing…

I wish people could know my heart when I’ve unintentionally wronged them…

I wish I could effectively think as a multiculturally accepting individual, honoring everyone’s personal story, history and culture…

I wish I could get myself out of bed early in the morning to sit in the quiet moments with God before the rush of my day began…

I wish I had more self control over what I ate…

I wish bitterness was a little easier to let go of and forgiveness was a little easier to master…

I wish my faith were even the size of a mustard seed to vanquish all my fears and insecurities…

But…

am blessed. I am loved. I am able to pursue and make many of those wishes come true. I do have the power of choice and the ability to take action. Some never may come to fruition, but that’s ok. I will do what I can and let go of what I can’t and sit in the peace that comes with releasing control to someOne greater than I who has crafted the big picture so much greater than I could ever imagine. But sometimes, it’s nice to dream… to imagine… if all wishes were possible, what that might look like.

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

