Dinner Tonight…


   

Trying something new tonight…    

Zucchini Patty Sandwiches

Most recipes in my house typically get altered. We either work to leave out some fat… some dairy… something we just don’t like… something we just don’t have… or add in something that is our favorite that will surely make the recipe better to our tastebuds. Making a recipe your own is where all the fun is! For us, that well-loved addition is often mushrooms. I realize they are a love ’em or hate ’em ingredient, but I don’t know what we would do without them! For this recipe, I’m probably going to use 1/2 the chickpeas and add in portabella mushrooms. As for the actual patty, I usually don’t have much luck with (1) them binding together or (2) the frying in the pan part. Both probably have to do with the fact that I alter the recipe, haha. And, I like to try new things so often, I rarely come back to try to perfect a particular recipe. So, we’ll see how this goes. Here’s to hoping Tony will be content with a meatless meal! If not, I’m at least pairing the patties with his favorite…

Sweet Potato Fries

Our favorite blend of seasonings:

  • kosher salt
  • pepper
  • paprika
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder

I simply eyeball the measurements, adding in more or less of something depending on my mood at the moment. We cut the potatoes about the size of Wendy’s fries (the trick is to try to get them all to be evenly sized). Put them in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil (too much will make them soggy), sprinkle with seasonings and then stick in the oven on 400 degrees for about 30 minutes or so. I flip them about every ten minutes until they are a little brown and crispy. Again, everyone’s different, so find the right seasonings and cooking time for you! The BEST method is on the grill, but because our grill is nearing it’s end, controlling the heat is a little difficult. I’m guessing we’ll stick with the oven tonight.

How it actually went…

Tony decided he wanted to do everything on the grill. We put the “fries” in the oven on 450 for approximately 20 minutes while I made the patties (we added roasted red pepper, mushrooms of course and just a little bit of asiago cheese – I also only put 1/3 of the can of chickpeas and used an egg and a half to help bind everything). Then, we transferred everything to the grill. I put about 1.5 Tbsp of olive oil on a griddle we have that was made to use on the grill and that’s how we cooked the patties. The fries were on some grilling foil. For plating the patties, I used a piece of flatboat (also heated on the grill with a little olive oil) and spread a spoonful of sour cream instead of yogurt – again, that’s what I had in the fridge, and then added a few pieces of iceberg lettuce. Here’s a pic of Tony’s plate… I was so excited that the patties stuck together!!

About melanieahill

I am a wife, graduate student, church staff member and most importantly, a work in progress. I am studying to become a licensed professional counselor and I absolutely love to cook.... and eat. I also love to travel, do some basic gardening and maybe one day I'll be a mom. There's a lot that I've learned in my 30 years, but I also know there's a lot more to go. It's an exciting journey!

Thoughts?

